Publishe Date: 4:05 PM - 7/28/2013 | Print

‘Officials from 40 states to attend Rohani inauguration’

Politics - Head of Iran's Majlis formalities department says the participation of officials from as many as 40 countries in the inauguration ceremony of President-elect Hassan Rohani has been established so far.

Seyyed Mohammad Yasrebi said on Sunday that presidents of Afghanistan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Lebanon, Armenia, North Korea, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Guinea-Bissau and Togo would attend the swearing in ceremony.

He added that prime ministers, parliament speakers, vice presidents and deputy foreign ministers from other countries will also be present at the inauguration.

The Iranian official said the deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations and Former Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad will also attend the event.

Rohani’s swearing-in is scheduled to be held on August 4, one day after his endorsement by Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Seyyed Ali Khamenei.

The Iranian president-elect won the June 14 presidential election with 50.7 percent of a total of 36, 704, 156 ballots. Voter turnout in the election was 72.7 percent.

Iranian Foreign Ministry Spokesman Abbas Araqchi said on Tuesday that leaders and officials from across the world, except for the United States and Israel, have been invited to Rohani’s inauguration event.


Send comments
Send to a friend
Name (Optional)
Email (Optional)
Website/Weblog (Optional)
Your Comments     0/700
I approve the publication, to be informed
New comments to this news, sent to my email
KhabarOnline comments that contain insults, it does not publish
Please enter the phrase in the box
= 9 + 1
Your name
Your e-mail
E-mail a friend
Please enter the phrase in the box:
= 9 + 1
Send News
Last News