Publishe Date: 8:09 PM - 8/12/2018 | Print

President Rouhani: Caspian Sea is Sea of peace, friendship

Politics - President Hassan Rouhani said on Sunday that all should endeavor to turn Caspian Sea to Sea of peace and friendship to broaden relations and cooperation amongst Caspian Sea littoral states

President Rouhani made the remarks in a meeting with Russian President Vladimir Putin on the sidelines of the heads of the five Caspian Sea littoral states in Aktau, Kazakhstan, on Sunday.

During the meeting, President Rouhani called the need to further broaden relations and cooperation between Tehran-Moscow in various fields.

Alls should spare no effort to turn Caspian Sea to the Sea of peace, friendship and means of cooperation among all Caspian Sea littoral states, he said.

Iran and Russia have had a broad-based cooperation in various regional and international issues such as maintaining regional security, fight against terrorism and Daesh in Syria which has left positive impacts on regional cooperation, President Rouhani said.

The Russian president, for his part, highlighted significant relations between the two countries and said Moscow is ready to further broaden allout relations and cooperation with Iran in line with both sides interests.

The JCPOA was an accredited internationally-recognized accord and all sides should help preserve it mainly after the US one-sided withdrawal, he said.

Heads of the five Caspian Sea littoral states, who have gathered in the Kazakh city of Aktau, signed the legal regime convention of the sea on Sunday.

Iranian President Hassan Rouhani attended the summit on Sunday.

Signing a joint statement and also some important and strategic documents on the Caspian Sea by leaders of its five littoral states and holding separate bilateral meetings with Kazakh President Nursultan Nazarbayev and a number of his other counterparts are among President Rouhani's itinerary.

The Caspian Sea littoral states ministerial meeting was held on August 11 with the participation of foreign ministers of its member-states (Iran, Russia, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan and Kazakhstan).

The previous meeting of the foreign ministers was held in Moscow on December 4-5, 2017.


Send comments
Send to a friend
Name (Optional)
Email (Optional)
Website/Weblog (Optional)
Your Comments     0/700
I approve the publication, to be informed
New comments to this news, sent to my email
KhabarOnline comments that contain insults, it does not publish
Please enter the phrase in the box
= 1 + 9
Your name
Your e-mail
E-mail a friend
Please enter the phrase in the box:
= 1 + 9
Send News
Last News