Iran's President Hassan Rouhani's anti-violence proposal which received the UN approval in September and his constructive statement at the Conference on Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia (CICA) in Shanghai have both paved the ground for Iran to be the flag bearer of campaign against terrorism in Asia, an Iranian official underscored.

Iran's New Ambassador to the UN Hamid Aboutalebi, whose visa has not yet been issued by the US government, described Shanghai CICA meeting as very successful.

Aboutalebi, who accompanied the Iranian president in his trip to Shanghai, said that CICA, by registering President Rouhani's resolution on fighting against violence and radicalism took a big step toward practical confrontation with terrorism.

He said presidents of Iran, Russia and China, in CICA meeting, laid emphasis on security threats in Asia and also on development of security bases and that CICA can be the strongest source of security in Asia.

The resolution was proposed by President Rouhani at the United Nations General Assembly meeting last year and was approved by consensus.

The CICA summit started work on Wednesday in Shanghai.

A high-ranking delegation, including Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif, Vice-President Akbar Torkan, Head of the Presidential Office Mohammad Nahavandian, Minister of Roads and Urban Development Abbas Akhoundi, Oil Minister Bijan Namdar Zanganeh, President's Special Aide Hossein Fereidoun and Aboutalebi accompanied President Rouhani during his visit to China.

The fourth CICA summit ended work on May 21.

China has been elected as the president of the CICA for the period from 2014 to 2016.

The CICA is an international forum for strengthening cooperation to ensure peace, security and stability in Asia.

The idea of the CICA was first announced by President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev at the 47th UN General Assembly session October 5, 1992.

The CICA Summit is held once every four years and CICA foreign ministerial meeting in held once every two years.

The CICA member-states include Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Cambodia, China, Egypt, India, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Palestine, South Korea, Russia, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, the UAE, Uzbekistan and Vietnam.

The non-member states include Armenia, Bhutan, Brunei, Cyprus, Georgia, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Oman, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Syria, Taiwan, East Timor, Turkmenistan and Yemen.

The observer member-states are Bangladesh, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, the Philippines, Qatar, Sri Lanka, Ukraine and the US.

News ID 186653